The intern

17Aug09

That’s what we call her. “Hey intern! Can you grab this for me?” Ha! We’re always messing with her, though! Actually I just came from breakfast the I am Second intern, Miranda. She’ll be headed back to college today, and we’ll definitely miss her. I wanted to share with you some of the amazing things that God has been showing me through her life. These lessons can change the way you live and think.

EXAMINE THE WAY YOU LOOK AT PEOPLE. God has been working on both Miranda and me this summer in the way that we look at others. . “Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.” Colossians 4:5-6. This has several applications. First, you should show love to everyone, because everyone is on a spiritual journey. It’s our duty to “spur one another on toward love and good deeds.” So whether the person is an atheist, or if they just came back from a mission trip, spur them on towards Christ. The second part of that is that all people are just people, so be careful not to judge. If they don’t know Christ yet, don’t be upset when they act like an unbeliever. How can we expect that person to act as though they know Christ when they don’t? It’s not our place to judge, just to show the love of Christ.

BE ONE MISSION EVERYWHERE. Where ever you are, whoever you’re with, whatever you’re doing, you can show the love of Christ. You don’t have to be overseas to tell people who He is. You don’t have to have tracts with you. You don’t have to know everything about the Bible. You just have to be willing to serve others and tell them about the love of Christ.

LIVE EVERY SINGLE DAY TO THE FULLEST. If all you had was today, would you be satisfied with the way you glorified Christ with your day? We went to a Switchfoot concert last night, and the weight of their lyrics was heavy on my heart. “I dare you to Move” “Gone” and “Meant to Live”. All encourage us to live life to the fullest: TODAY. “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34. Like the scripture I referenced in Colossians, “Make the most of every opportunity.” Don’t wait to tell your best friend what Christ has done in your life. You may only have today. Don’t wait to start serving those in need. You may only have today. Don’t wait to make amends with those you’ve hurt. You may only have today.

It’s been incredible to see her grow in these areas, and the way that she’s ready to take these concepts back to school with her. (Let me brag on her for a second) It’s been incredible to see the way that as she let’s God in, He is changing her heart to be more like His.

One more thing we talked about was encouraging others when you have learned something about Christ. So that’s what I’m trying to do here: sharing with you the way God’s been showing me how to live.

So my challenge is to show someone the love of Christ TODAY and EVERY DAY from here on out. J

-Shay

6 Responses to “The intern”

  1. 1 d

    It’s our duty to “spur one another on toward love and good deeds.”

    One sentance can have such an impact, this one did it for me. In an office setting you have the opportunity to listen to little snippets of a person’s life day to day. It’s usually a little gripe about the traffic or the weather. Reading this makes me think about what I am going to say before I actually say it. Instead of complaining about something that went wrong this morning, maybe I should recognize and be thankful for something that went right! If nothing else it might make someone else stop and think about the gifts that they have in their lives as well.

  2. 2 Rusty

    A few days ago I asked God to please give me an opportunity to share my testimony of how Christ has changed the life of my wife and I, and then I promptly forgot that I had asked Him that. The next day, a co-worker opened up and shared with me(completely unprompted) about the troubles he was going through with his family. I began to share with him what God had done in my family’s life when suddenly I realized that God right then had answered my prayer. I began to choke up, and while the man stared at me wide eyed,I told him about my prayer…such an awesome moment. When we open up our lives to people and share the love of Christ in an open way and with a humble heart,doors are opened that will never be closed.

  3. 3 Terri

    I completely agree with you about the way we view people. One of my favorite quotes is:
    “Its important to see the value of those considered worthless by others.” unknown

    I really took this saying to heart when I began feeding the homeless in downtown Dallas with several of my friends. It is sad that so many people just walk right by them like they don’t even exist. When it would be so easy to wish them a Blessed day, or even just say hello to acknowledge them. Money and material things aren’t their only needs. A kind word, listening to their story, praying with them. Letting them know that we are all Gods’ children, no one is more important than anyone else. We are not to judge. Whether it’s an intern or a homeless person, we are to see them wth the eyes of God and treat them with kindness, respect and love. WE ARE ALL CHILDREN OF GOD.

  4. 4 Cindy

    As I read this scripture you referenced ….“Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.” Colossians 4:5-6 I know God is saying something to ME. This is the 2nd time I’ve seen it today. hint hint. However – my issue has not been to share Christ, it’s been in sharing Him in a slightly overwhelming way. Just enough to let people know they sure didnt want to sit by me in the conference room during the meeting. lol. I sat with my Dad this week talking about the issue he used to have with his blood pressure and how salt was a huge no-no. When he began to use an alternative, it caused his taste to change and not crave the salty foods anymore. Yet one afternoon, after an appointment, he said, he went to lunch with two friends. As he placed the bite in his mouth, it repulsed him. Way too much salt. You know, he said, when something is way too salty, you just cant eat it? I sat there hearing this knowing God was showing me the way I used to be. My Dad is unsaved. He’s never listened to anything about Jesus I had to say. Later that day, the Lord opened a chance to speak about Him and my words were so loving and so true, yet gentle. Jesus sure doesn’t need a soap box. He just needs a heart yielded to Him……

  5. Green Tea is known to stimulate the release of waste from the body without the embarrassing side effects of the pill you really
    should combine some of pure green coffee bean extract diet products to optimize your metabolism levels.
    Green pure green coffee bean extracts are used for ages and have been recorded,
    over 74 cases of suicide, some episodes of epilepsy and onset of multiple sclerosis.

  6. There are no established legal standards for what
    constitutes a green green coffee bean extract side effects
    for some time, loss of focus, harmful eating habits, you
    are less likely to have recurrences of breast cancer. They are short-lived solution to obesity,
    suchas food sensitivities, hormonal imbalances, metabolic disorders and heredity are some among
    the main symptoms shown by high bad cholesterol patients.


Leave a Reply

