Headphones or Loud Speakers

02Jul09

There was an I am Second booth at the Celebrate Freedom concert on Saturday, and I had the opportunity to meet a lot of you who are fans. However, I couldn’t shake the feeling that I am Second has been more of a consumable product for self growth than a tool to reach others. I could be wrong, but hear me out. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with being encouraged by I am Second, but are you using it to encourage others as well? Are you sharing it with people that aren’t believers? It’s kind of like the difference between buying headphones—something that will help you personally listen to your music and buying a speaker—something that will help you hear the music yourself, but also share your music with others. My challenge is that you use I am Second as an encouragement for yourself and as a tool to reach others. Use it as both. Start an I am Second group. Use our materials in an existing small group. Add the link to the end of your facebook status. Volunteer somewhere and wear an I am Second shirt. Tell someone you care about to check out the site and then grab coffee with them to talk about it. Write a blog post about it. Suggest the fanpage to your friends on facebook. Show a video at church. Write the URL on your receipt when you go out to eat. Put a bumper sticker on your car. Buy a t-shirt and wear it when you’re going to be in a place with a lot of people. Use it! Use it as a tool to reach those who don’t know Christ or those that do that need to be spurred on towards Christ.

So what are you using I am Second as? Headphones or loud speakers?

Just a challenge-

-Shay

4 Responses to “Headphones or Loud Speakers”

  1. 1 Kim

    yes, yes, & yes! waiting for Mike Murino’s video – great story, great message, the world needs to know….. been there 🙂

  2. 2 dgarrisonjr

    Great challenge! One I know I need to wrestle with living in the entertainment, shopping, and sex worshipping culture we live that continually points us to the “worship” centers of the ever-wider and flatter plug-in drug (otherwise known as the TV), the even bigger screens at monstrous movie theatres, the uber- specialty laden malls, and the next, latest, and greatest mega-monster coliseum of sport that all pump a continuous stream of “I Am First”, look-at-me, people-are-the-center of the universe messages that drive us away from making much of Jesus in how we live and order our lives to love and serve others. With that environment, even the great tool and message of I Am Second, we must fight the beautiful fight upstream, against the culture, answering the call of Him who says, “Come, follow Me”, not the latest fad, trendy ministry tool, or doctrine. Jesus is a person, no less than the perfect God-Man who lives today, seated on the throne, and we, His church are to live in intimacy with Him so His life would flow out of us like a fountain, not clogged up like a stagnant pond. May the hope we have in Him compel us to live so that our very lives are the speakers that people hear His voice calling them to repent and find the abundant life in Him.

  3. 3 Tom

    I’m am still not sure how but I am second found me. I am not sure I even care why.
    I know that my brother found this site. He lives in the Dallas area and the marketing campaign caught his interest.
    I am still very conflicted on whether I can take the leap of faith but I am spending a lot of time looking at this as an option. The other options have failed me at this point.

  4. 4 Kathryn

    Hi Tom,

    I feel very compelled to respond to your post, something I don’t usually do – I am more of a lurker than a blogger.

    You may already be aware, but, I want to briefly point out that “faith” and “religion” are not the same things. It is not necessary to be a religious person to be a person of faith. However, people of faith can be religious people; and, not all religious people are people of faith.

    My point is you don’t have to “do” anything to believe that there is a God and that He sent His Son, Jesus Christ, to die as the ultimate sacrifice for human’s sins so that we may spend all of eternity with Him. Once we acknowledge Jesus for who He is and what He did for us, He also sends His Holy Spirit to dwell within us to help guide us (our conscience, if you will) into a more Christ-like way of living (it is up to us to listen).

    My curiosity was piqued with regard to the option you’re speaking of. I know it’s none of my business and no need to respond, but I do wonder what you mean by “looking at this as an option.” An option to what?

    I can tell you that by my accepting and choosing to believe in a loving Father of All, and a Personal Savior, and my Guide thru this life, I have lived a more peaceful life, one that I could not imagine ever doing without again. That doesn’t mean I haven’t had my share of ups and downs, good and bad, I still suffer various forms of just being human; but I do not feel hopeless or the despair I felt before I chose to open my heart to believing. I KNOW that NO MATTER WHAT happens to me or around me, THIS life is temporary and very short compared to living an ETERNAL life where there will be no more suffering, no more tears, no more sadness, no more disease, no more greed, no more hatred, no more wars, etc. Just knowing that alone gives me peace, an option I do not ever want to be without.

    To you and your brother, my message is this: He is knocking at your heart’s door with your free gift, all you have to do is say that you accept it.

    Blessings and best wishes to you both,
    Kathryn


Leave a Reply

