Tom’s story

18May09

A guy named Tom sent this to us after seeing everyone posting on the Facebook fanpage.

“Seems like everyone commenting here is so young which is encouraging, but I thought I’d throw in something from an old guy. I turned my back on the Lord at age 17 because of the shortcomings of a couple of people in my church back then and also it seemed to me that everything that was fun was a sin. I walked my prideful and arrogant life for 43 years with my back towards God and became an alcoholic in the process. Now thanks to the prayers of my daughters and some very good friends, I’ve have come back to the Lord, kicked the booze and am happier than I ever remember being in my whole life. My biggest regret is maybe not having enough time left in this life to show God how truly grateful I am for his blessings and his grace. It’s never too late to turn to God.”

That’s all J

-Shay

3 Responses to “Tom’s story”

  1. 1 Wendy

    Tom,
    Thank you for giving us eyes from the “older” side. I am confident that God is doing the happy dance when he sees you and he knows how very grateful you are. There are angels singing just for you. I believe that He has big plans for you and the path you took helped prepare you for them. May God bless you on your journey.
    wt

  2. 2 Cindy Paxton

    Dear Tom,
    Thank you for sharing your insightful walk. I hope others will take away that a relationship between myself and God is not developed on the actions of others; but on our actions with God. God Bless you for sharing and may the Lord guide your path.

  3. 3 Howard Coughlin

    I was in a boat similar to yours. I was a church attending Christian but, not being fed spiritually. One evening at a concert were iamsecond brochures. That was then and this is now, a new life living with Christ.


Leave a Reply

