A Few Tidbits for You

21Apr09

First of all, I’m amazed daily at the number of stories I hear of from people of all walks of life, all religious backgrounds, all ages, races, lifestyles, and genders, who have found something positive from this website. Who knew simplicity coupled with authenticity could make such a huge impact? I’m going to start sharing some cool stories with y’all as I hear of them, but I need some of your stories too! If you want to submit your own testimony, your I Am Second story, or something you’ve seen happen recently, let me know, and I’d love to share! Here’s a link to help you do that, and I can’t wait to hear what God’s been doing.

Now then, what I really wanted to share with you:

There’s a blog post from a guy named Eric Bryant. He drew a connection that I was vaguely aware but hadn’t so pointedly realized. Watch Brian Welch’s video, and then watch Stephen Baldwin’s. Eric says, “In both [Brian Welch’s and Stephen Baldwin’s stories], they mentioned random people unknown to the rest of the world who helped them connect personally to God.  For Stephen it was the housekeeper and for Brian it was the real estate broker.  The heroes from these stories were Augusta and Eric –  invisible yet powerful influences.  Random people making a remarkable difference. We may be surprised with who is already looking for God and who we can influence if we have the courage and humility to serve those around us.”There’s not much a can add to that thought. What great things could God do through us if we’re just willing to take action? Just a cool thought.

I’ve got a video I want to share with you tomorrow, so be sure to check back!

-Shay

P.S. If you have the time to take a quick survey, I would love some feedback.

3 Responses to “A Few Tidbits for You”

  1. 1 Mark

    I sent my testimony in to the website quite a while ago…What I really wanted to share, was my own random person story. In October 2006, I was in the darkest time of my life. I had tried to commit suicide, and was still Hopeless. While waiting in a Doctor’s office, I watched as a teen aged girl verbally abused her Mother. There was only the three of us in the office. I was really tense, yet through the abuse, this Mother was unusually calm. She seemed to not even take notice of me in the room.
    The daughter was called in to see the Doctor, and I felt this overwhelming urge to ask her how in the world she was able to remain so calm…I finally did ask, and her reply at first was, ” Do you really want to know the answer?” Taken aback by her question, I said , sure I wanted to know. She said something that will be with me for the rest of my life. looking straight into my eyes she said: ” I have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. And you can have one too”
    What happened next, I will keep to my self… That was a Friday. I went to church on Sunday, and embraced Christ that day…From the depth of hopelessness,the hand of one person who was bold enough to share her Faith with a stranger, helped lift me up enough to reach for the Lord. Being Second is a wonderful thing…

  2. Thanks for sharing your story, Mark!

    Thanks for your efforts, Shay! Glad you liked my post on IAmSecond. 🙂

  3. Hi, interesting post. I have been wondering about this topic,so thanks for posting. I will certainly be subscribing to your posts.


Leave a Reply

