A Different Kind of Symbol

02Mar09

Before I jump into this blog post, I want to remind everybody that voting is still going on at SxSW for the People’s Choice award. You can vote once per day. Vote here! Thanks guys!

Now then, I have a question for you. I had a conversation with a friend of mine about two weeks ago about the WWJD bracelets that were it about ten years ago. Do you remember them? He was really concerned that I Am Second could become a stale label for Christians. So it’s kind of been on my heart. I Am Second is different, because it opens up a different kind of evangelistic opportunity. It leads you to a place where people can encounter true stories of faith. Or it gives you the opportunity to immediately share your faith. Also, it’s not obviously faith-based, so you might get a broader range of people asking you about the site. So here’s my question for you: How is this movement different to you? If you have “I Am Second” on a t-shirt or a bumper sticker or on your Facebook page, what is your response when someone asks you: What is that?

This is an interesting topic and I’d really love to hear your thoughts!

Shay

3 Responses to “A Different Kind of Symbol”

  1. I think “I Am Second” is 1) new enough not to be considered stale and 2) much more of a conversation starter than “What Would Jesus Do?” For one, it doesn’t mention Jesus at all in its name, and the statement is bound to get people asking, “What does that mean?” On the other hand, WWJD is overtly Christian, and people who have preconceptions about Jesus and Christians will dismiss it in a second.

    I think the WWJD movement was more for the Christian subculture than it was an effective evangelistic tool. I Am Second is both.

  2. 2 Ryan

    My wife and I have I Am Second shirts that we wear in public regularly. We’ve actually been “racing” to see which one of us can get more people to ask about it. It seemed like a good idea when we started the game, but it was strange when the first person asked me because I wasn’t actually sure what to say.

    Now, I’ve gotten to the point where I just tell people that one day, a handful of hardcore believers set out to collect stories from people whose lives had been turned upside down by God. People from all walks of life, all nationalities and denominations – I Am Second is where they all come together. It’s a place you can go to see what it looks like when someone gives God the wheel, and where He takes them because of it.

  3. 3 Mark

    “I Am Second” is different, simply because it brings real hearts together. Together in a place where the listener is confronted with the reality of his or her situation. “I am Lost”. “I need the Saving Power and Forgiveness of Jesus”…True stories of Faith? Certainly! Hope, that the Love , Mercy and Forgiveness of Christ is available is the promise in each and every story. That His Love is the only way to escape the bondage and shame of Sin…

    What do I say when asked about it? ( I dont have a t-shirt ) but if I did, I would continue to say, “I Am Second” presents testimony by real people of how the Living God Has changed the hearts of of the Lost.


Leave a Reply

