The Joy in a Facebook Invitation

09Feb09

A couple of weeks ago, I got a really neat email through sharemystory@iamsecond.com from a cool guy named Marshall.
 
“So, yesterday I turn on my computer and log onto Facebook. I see that there is a message from the Facebook group ‘I Am Second.’ I didn’t really know what it was all about so I log on and start watching the videos. I was blown away. That whole time I was there watching, I felt the love of God permeate my whole being. And then it all made sense to me. I’m watching Stephen Baldwin’s video and he said something that I have never heard before, but always knew. He said, “My life is God’s life in me for him to do what he wants.” That’s when it clicked. That’s when I realized that I have no life of my own in Christ. By saying that, I mean I don’t have any right to live for myself.”

People are finding Christ through I Am Second, and they’re finding I Am Second through something as simple as a Facebook invitation. Look how easy it is to spread the word!

Obviously, we have a Facebook group at I Am Second. But did you also know there is a Twitter account to follow? There’s also a MySpace page. So, embrace it. Share it. Get creative with it. All it takes is a couple of clicks usually and you could make a huge impact on someone. Join the Facebook group, and invite your friends. Add a tag to your status “James is ready for spring break! http://iamsecond.com” (That goes for Twitter and MySpace too!). Let people know! If you’re on MySpace, change your display name. Write a blog post. Post a Bulletin. Open a door for your friends to find out about being second. You never know what kind of impact it will have.

Do you guys have any other ideas? Let me know how it goes!

-Shay

6 Responses to “The Joy in a Facebook Invitation”

  1. 1 Nancy Clary

    I am so excited about Iamsecond. I am in Media in Baton Rouge, LA and have been for 25 years. As a Christian whose is totally on fire and sold out follower of Jesus, I love seeing the masses impacted by this amazing movement and campaign. I wish I were a part! I love what you all are doing and stand in awe at the power and the annointing. It is going to be amazing to see God’s hand move. God bless you all!

  2. 2 Marshall

    thank you guys. I take no credit for the message, it goes all to God. You guys have used a great part of the story and I know God will use it to impact others lives.

  3. I have only seen a few of the videos. I love what this movement stands for. I love that you can show a person who has done a total 180 and now craves to be like Christ! I love that you can get those “big names” and let them speak out about their love and relationship with our God! I also want to know about Joe Shmo… or Josephina Shmosephia. 🙂 about their love for Christ and maybe about the everyday struggle to be like Him – the passion inside to scream from the mountiantops. (or hill tops in TX). But in the end HE is always first. Thanks for all you do!

  4. 4 Hollis

    I am honored to be “second” to JESUS, and consider myself “last”, because I can never measure up to being “worthy” of His great Love for me. I only thank Him for the privilege of being able to serve Him in any way I can, through church, family, friends and others, to spread the good news of His great love in whatever way the LORD enables me, to any and all the people of this world, so we can all be reunited in His Kingdom in the next…….

  5. Its like you learn my thoughts! You appear to know a lot approximately this, like you wrote the guide in it or something.
    I believe that you simply could do with a few % to force the message home a little bit, but instead of that, that is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  6. This paragraph is truly a pleasant one it helps new the web users, who
    are wishing in favor of blogging.


Leave a Reply

