I am Second Launch

05Dec08

black-logo-white-box

I am Second is a movement where significance in life is a shared value among people of all kinds. Actors. Musicians. Business leaders. Your next-door neighbor. People just like you. Their authentic stories here on iamsecond provide insight into dealing with typical struggles of everyday living. You’ll meet people who overcame destructive lifestyles. Plus you’ll discover those who’ve tried to go it alone and have failed, yet still found a life full of hope, peace, and fulfillment.

We believe there is a reason why you are here. We all have needs and could use some help. Here you’ll find issues relevant to you as well as answers to challenging life questions. I am Second is designed to help people discover their purpose in life. Have you discovered yours? Visit the full site.
11 Responses to “I am Second Launch”

  1. The site is fantastic. Sent the following e-mail to my Christian friends and family, and would urge others to do something similar:

    Subject: A web site for your unsaved friends and family

    Friends,

    I can’t get over this site I heard about on WAY-FM this morning. It’s called “I am second” and is at http://iamsecond.com. It’s got video testimonies from people from all walks of life, including some celebrities like Stephen Baldwin, Jason Castro (former contestant on American Idol), and Brian Welch (former member of the band, Korn).

    From what I can tell, it looks like it was done by a church or churches in Texas, and it was executed with a level of excellence I’ve never seen when it comes to a web-based ministry. This is something I honestly wish I’d thought of. It starts with a list of video testimonies you can scroll through, or you can just click on the random one that is displayed front and center when you visit, and once the testimony is over, you can see other testimonies with a similar theme, or proceed to a basic Q&A about the Christian life, with such questions as “Does God care about me?”, “Aren’t there many ways to Heaven?”, “Why does God allow bad stuff to happen?” — it provides answers to some of the tough questions someone contemplating a Christian faith might ask.

    Then, to top it all off, and this is what sort of blew my mind, it provides a link to contact someone, then and there, via e-mail, phone, or live chat. According to the site it is staffed 24/7. This is the sort of thing companies do to provide tech support after you buy a computer (though even that usually isn’t 24/7), not the sort of thing we Christians do to advance the kingdom. But why don’t we? This is just awesome. Like I said, I wish I’d thought of it, but I’m honestly just thankful someone did.

    God Bless,
    Ernie

  2. 2 Aubrey B.

    After listening to some of these stories…the only thing I could think of and reiterate to myself was James 1:2.

    “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.”

    These people are still filled with hope because of one reason…the Good Lord never fails…He considers it pure joy when he faces trials of many kinds because the trials He faces are our lives as Christians. Yet…He still has hope in us no matter what the sin…so why not have hope in Him and the life He has planned for us?

    Amazing. My hope was restored.

  3. This is definitely a site for EVERYONE. As much as it is meant to be an outreach tool, it’s a powerful tool for those who have already accepted Jesus’ invitation to join the journey and be his disciple. What comes to mind for the “church” (group of believers, not a building) is…Revelation 3:2-3. Let the awakening continue…

  4. 4 Gary Cottrell

    The billboards are great! I saw the one with the guy from Korn, and it definitely caught my attention. What was crazy, is that when i went to the sight to check it out, the first picture that caught my eye was Blake Mankin (i know him from my church).

  5. Jennifer,

    Oh, definitely. I hope the wording I used in my previous e-mail didn’t send the wrong impression. It was definitely sent to my Christian friends as a tool to use in their own ministries… And there are quite a few Christians who are still sleepwalking, as well, who might be spurred to action by something like this 😉 Thanks so much for your church’s involvement in creating it!

    -Ernie

  6. 6 cathy anne

    I absolutely was moved by the website– it is anointed. The way everyone shared their hearts was compelling and the photography was simple and amazing.

    Jason Castro shines his light wherever he goes and I am so thrilled he was part of this project so that people can see what he is truly about and say “I want that relationship with God too”.

    Brian Head Welch has also been very vocal in his love of Christ and it was great to see him share his story on the site. For those that put Christians in a box, or are Christians that think there is only one kind of Christian, I am glad to see that God is going to use him to minister to those that would never hear the gospel any other way.

    Love love love the message and the site!
    Thank you and Jesus bless!
    Cathy Anne
    I AM SECOND

    http://heart-throscopy.blogspot.com

  7. Hi Ernie,
    I’m sorry if my tone was at all abrupt. I had just come off of starting Sticky Church by Larry Osborne. A little passionate. 🙂 God also used this site in my life in a huge way. It shed light on the fact that I did’t feel like I could honestly answer the question “Am I second?” with a yes. As a long time follower of Jesus (since I was three), and a daughter of a pastor, that is a hard reality. Jesus is waking me up and I’m passionate about other followers of Christ experiencing him fully, how he intended. Thanks for your gentle response. Again, I’m sorry if it was abrupt.

    Jennifer

  8. 8 cathy anne

    Can you please direct me to or please can someone create some I am Second banners for myspace and facebook, blogs posts etc. I would appreciate it very much. thanx
    Jesus bless

  9. 9 Gregg Murry

    Incredible! What a message to a society that is focused on “I am first”. It should be gratifying to know that God is being glorified and His Kingdom is being advanced very relevant and real way. Let’s pray that this message spreads like wild fire and to world that needs to know that God is first! Bravo!!! Praise God!

  10. I keep going back to the site, to watch and re-watch the videos. Very well-done and inspiring. What a great use of the Web, and video, to tell compelling stories.

    Great work!

    Kevin Hunt
    http://www.wheelontheweb.com
    http://www.twitter.com/kevin_hunt

  11. Jennifer,

    Thanks for your follow-up, and think nothing of it! I also grew up in the church, accepted Christ at a young age, but only while going through a painful divorce, and fighting to save my marriage, did I truly come to understand what it meant to love unconditionally. As painful as it was, God used this experience to make Romans 8:28 a reality in my life, and I feel as though in many ways I’m only now answering my true calling.

    If you saw the movie Fireproof, many of my experiences this past year were so similar to those of Caleb that I was moved to tears when I saw it. I’ve finally come to understand what it means to be second, and as strange as it seems to some I talk to, I’m thankful to God for the experience he used to bring me there, even though I still love my wife very much.


Leave a Reply

